The Bevvy Almanac

A personal record of hostelleries visited in the pursuit of consuming Real Ale.

Decent Beer and No Bull.

Posted by sm1d on October 11, 2009

(click on images to enlarge)

I visited Hereford’s Edgar Street ground for their League Two fixture with Dagenham & Redbridge on 3rd October 2009.

As is usually the case when visiting a new town, I headed to the local branch of Wetherspoons. The Hereford branch  is ‘The Kings Fee’ a short five minute walk from the train station on Commercial Road.

This ‘Spoons’  award winner  was converted from its former life as old supermarket and is decorated with old fashioned oil paintings with the likes of Nell Gwynn and has a spacious courtyard if your nipping out for a tab at the rear.

The bar staff proudly wore their Hereford United shirts,  the club has a deal with the pub, giving 20% off food when presenting your season ticket.

As you would expect in this part of the world, the pub has a large selection of ciders and the usual guest ales, my personal selection was  Thwaies Golden Wunder (4.5%)****

 

The Victory on St Owen Street is also home to the Spinning Dog Brewery.  The pub is modeled like a galleon, wooden decor with portholes and canons. The bar itself is long and narrow with a pool table and skittle alley next to the brewery at the rear.

The bar had a good selection of music playing, especially if  like myself, your in to ’90’s indie music, there’s also regular live bands playing at the weekends. My pint selection was one of the Spinning Dog ales Top Dog(4.2%)***

 

A multiple CAMRA award winner, the excellent Barrels is also on St Owen Street. The pub is split into four seperate rooms, including one with a pool table and another with a TV showing live sport.

There’s a large selection of books on show if you fancy a quite read. The Barrel Book Swap Club allows you to take away a book for free  – as long as you replace it with another!

The building once housed the Wye Valley Brewery, so there’s a complete set of hand pumps. I tried Dorothy Goodbodys Golden Ale (4.2%)*** and Butty Bach(4.5%)***

Over all an excellent pub and it comes under the “I wish this was my local” bracket, which is the biggest complement I can give it.

 

Before I boarded my train home I had time to pop into The Commercial which is the nearest boozer to the station. I don’t know if it was just bad timing or not but the pub was full of crackerjacks in the main bar. However there’s a quiter and less intimidating lounge so I could enjoy my Wye Valley Bitter (3.7%)**** and watch a bit of football on the big screen.

An excellent day out in Hereford with a great selection of pubs. – Great ale and no bull!  My Matchday 229 Edgar Street

Leave a Reply

 
